Here’s what our past clients have had to say. Comments, reviews and testimonials are roughly arranged in chronological order.  You can also see photos in our gallery that our clients took while on tour with us.

These people have just returned from their China trip that we arranged for them. Here are their comments regarding the trip:

There are not enough superlatives to aptly describe the depth and breadth of the travel experience you made possible. You listened to our insanely ambitious wish list and then planned the perfect itinerary. Each day was wondrous. The sights, sounds and scents will stay with us for a lifetime.  And we were able to be fully in the moment because you freed us of the distractions that come with making one’s way in unfamiliar places.

We were blown away by the accommodations you chose for us–-from the simplicity of gers to breathtakingly beautiful hotel rooms in unique settings with top-rate staff that went out of their way to make sure we felt well cared for.  As for the guides, their enthusiasm and love for their respective homelands was palpable. Our understanding of the history and cultures of China, Mongolia and Japan were significantly enriched by the information they shared.  All went to extraordinary lengths to ensure our utmost satisfaction.

In short, our expectations were exceeded every step of the way. The fact that this dream vacation was made possible by the expertise of the Access China staff has been a standard component of our travel tales. We are HUGE fans and will highly recommend your services to friends, family and coworkers.  In fact, I am already planning to return to Mongolia for the Eagle Hunter Festival in 2017.  I will, of course, look to your talented team to assist with arrangements.

“Thank You” seems like a woefully inadequate expression of the extent of our gratitude.  Please know much we value the time spent and care taken to perfect our travel plans.

Susan Stawick and Suzanne Rausch – Washington DC and Arlington Heights, IL (private tour in China and Japan, July 2015)


You were right you picked the perfect guide for us. Lokesh is terrific. Very attentive-he’s taking excellent care of us!!! Just leaving Varanasi for udaipur on our full day of flying and thankfully the last of the internal flights for this trip!  We love India so far especially the traffic!!! (I’m serious!!!). Thanks again for arranging this trip for us. Never a doubt that we would be in good hands!!!

India totally exceeded our expectations! From the hotels to the warmth of the people to the endless photographic opportunities to all the logistics handled superbly by Lokesh who took excellent care of us! The company checked in with us every few days to ensure all was going well. The transportation handler Sandeep and the driver Mano were also excellent. Thank you so much for arranging this trip for us. Once again we are thrilled with our experience and can’t wait to travel with your company again.

We had GREAT weather at the Taj Mahal for the both days we were there!

Lorraine Spina and Terese Acampora – Brooklyn NY (private tour in India, Feb 2015)


From the minute we met him we knew he was going to be exceptional, and he never let us down. His knowledge, warmth, and constant concern that we were having a great time sets him apart. Please understand that Grace in particular exhibited these same characteristics, but Jeremy went above and beyond. He brought the real China to life for us. In a trip full of high points, our adventure in the mountains was the top (no pun intended). I will always remember the hike Jeremy and I took through the rice fields. It was truly amazing.

As you know, I left my memory cards in one of our hotels. I was beside myself when I discovered the loss. I called Jeremy and he immediately, with the help of your office, jumped on it. I never expected to see them again. You can only imagine my happiness when I got Jeremy’s text that they had been recovered. I will be forever in his debt for locating them for me. I can only hope you know what a gem you have in him. He is a credit to your company and his country.

The other matter I want to mention to you is how responsive your office was on both our concern with the location of one of our hotels (which had nothing to do with you) and the loss of my memory cards. When traveling to a country where English is not widely spoken, we need to be able to rely on our guides and travel company. We were so pleased with our experience in China. In fact, I can honestly tell you it’s the only country I’ve traveled to that I plan to return to.

David & Janet S. – Wayne, NJ (private tour in China, June 2014)


First and foremost are the guides we had. They ranged from good to outstanding with Grace and Jeremy being at the very top. It is Jeremy that I particularly want to discuss with you. Janet and I have had the good fortune to have visited a fair number of countries and to have used a fair number of guides. There are only three that stand out for us and two are in China. Our first great guide was in Liverpool, England. The second was Grace in Beijing and the third is Jeremy. Of the three Jeremy is at the top of our list.

From the minute we met him we knew he was going to be exceptional, and he never let us down. His knowledge, warmth, and constant concern that we were having a great time sets him apart. Please understand that Grace in particular exhibited these same characteristics, but Jeremy went above and beyond. He brought the real China to life for us. In a trip full of high points, our adventure in the mountains was the top (no pun intended). I will always remember the hike Jeremy and I took through the rice fields. It was truly amazing.

As you know, I left my memory cards in one of our hotels. I was beside myself when I discovered the loss. I called Jeremy and he immediately, with the help of your office, jumped on it. I never expected to see them again. You can only imagine my happiness when I got Jeremy’s text that they had been recovered. I will be forever in his debt for locating them for me. I can only hope you know what a gem you have in him. He is a credit to your company and his country.

The other matter I want to mention to you is how responsive your office was on both our concern with the location of one of our hotels (which had nothing to do with you) and the loss of my memory cards. When traveling to a country where English is not widely spoken, we need to be able to rely on our guides and travel company. We were so pleased with our experience in China. In fact, I can honestly tell you it’s the only country I’ve traveled to that I plan to return to.

David & Janet S. – Wayne, NJ (private tour in China, June 2014)


We had a really, really great time in China!! We really think very highly of both guides, and drivers.

We filled out the form before we went to the Mosque in Xi’an, and I was surprised how very special it was. Originally we were scheduled to visit the Mosque in the afternoon. Our guide suggested we postpone the Mosque until the morning when it would be cooler. I’m so happy she did because not only was it more pleasant temperature wise, there were very few people. I think we arrived at about 10:00 am.

Thanks for your help, we had a very enjoyable and memorable trip, we would not change anything!

Rae and Eric P. – Portland, OR (private China Tour, June 2014)


We loved our trip! And, we would definitely recommend Access China to friends wanting to travel to China. We especially appreciate your advice and quick responsiveness to all of our questions and concerns before our trip. And, also for respecting our choice not to spend time shopping.

At each and every stop, our guides and drivers were right there and we located them very easily at the airports. That really reduced the stress of arriving in unknown places. We were lucky with our flights being on time. And, with the exception of one day in Beijing, we were incredibly lucky with the weather.

We loved our itinerary. It was wonderful to visit really varied locales. And, thanks for adding Lijiang into the itinerary. It was a great experience. The Crowne Plaza is also one of the most beautiful and comfortable hotels I’ve ever stayed in in my life. In fact, all of our hotels were great. We also really loved the Li-an Lodge in Ping An. A beautiful hotel and the young women on staff there were so friendly, professional and welcoming. Just lovely ladies. The Red Wall in Beijing was a delightful place to stay, too.

We especially loved our outdoor times: biking, hiking, climbing to grottos and to Ping An and walking everywhere. I ended up with some altitude sickness in Lijiang (unfortunately, I didn’t know what had to be done to prepare for altitude — or didn’t pay attention to it — so Jim and I did not hike in the Yak Meadow. By the following morning, I was 100%). Michael and Lynne really enjoyed that day. In general, those days were really great.

So, thank you, Moosa, to you, to Rachel and to the whole Access China team. As I mentioned, we will all definitely recommend Access China to our friends.

Sue F. – ON, Canada (private, May 2014)


We were very pleased with all the arrangements- the guides were great and ALWAYS prompt, as were the drivers. We especially appreciated the flexibility and the extra lengths they went for us.
Thanks for all your help, it really was quite a trip.


Rebecca M. – Tucson, AZ (Private China tour, Apr 2014)


Words absolutely fail me when, since being back in TO, friends & family have asked me how my trip was. “Incredible” barely scratches the surface!
You and all of your colleagues & assistants who were with us, including particularly Lokesh of course, were helpful, friendly, fun-loving and tirelessly thoughtful. Our every need was considered, even to the point where we were checked in for flights and given our boarding passes. True luxury!
My head and I will need weeks and possibly months to absorb all the complexities and beauty and history and beauty of our trip together.
Bless you for your part in making it such a wondrous experience!

Liz R. – Toronto, ON (Group Tour to India, January 2014)


Thank you for a spectacular India trip! Our senses were fully engaged with the cacophony of noises, dazzling colours, powerful tastes, and variety of smells both good and bad. As with your other journeys, the sites, accommodations, and experiences were outstanding. You and the team made it all appear so seamless which is quite a feat given the many encounters and events. It was also wonderful to share it all with such a congenial group.

We really enjoyed and appreciated the whole experience and your gracious company. Thanks again.

Linda H. – Toronto, ON (Group Tour to India, January 2014)


Our trip was wonderful and the service outstanding. We were specifically pleased with the driver and guide in Lijiang who helped us deal with a cancelled flight.
The guide booked us into a wonderful hotel and provided us with additional tour opportunities during our one day extension. We appreciate the service your agency has provided for both of our China trips.

Thank you very much,
Kari W. – Aloha, OR (Private China Tour, November 2013)


I am sending a big thank you to you for all of your hard work in the planning of the trip to India. It was a wonderful adventure, so well organized with so many special details which I know take a lot of planning. Our farewell evening was magical. The group was great and I already miss all the interaction and all the fun.

Diane F. – Toronto, ON (Group Tour to India, January 2014)


I was thrilled and so excited to be in China! It was one of the best experiences of my life. The scenery exceeded any expectations. I also felt safe and was treated with respect by all. I am very grateful to so many for making this journey possible and appreciate the patience you have had in working with me. Thank you for your willingness to put together my final itinerary under such notice and for such a brief trip.

Overall my comments are all positive. Each of the three guides assigned to me were compassionate and competent. They were each a delight to spend time with and each so different one from the other.

I accomplished everything that I had hoped for…walked the Badaling part of the Great Wall, hugged a panda, took a boat on the Li River to see the limestone bluffs, and viewed the rice terraces; and, had a better time than I ever imagined.

I continue to be absolutely thrilled with having gone to China! I do hope to return and I would suggest you, personally, to anyone who is looking for someone to work with in planning an excursion.

Valerie B. – Phoenix, AZ (Private China Tour, October 2013)


I did want to get back to you and tell you that everything went very smoothly in Hong Kong. The tour guides were on time and very knowledgeable. We were met at the airport and transported to our hotel. The hotel was perfectly located on Nathan Blvd and was very nice.

I believe we had a very comprehensive exposure to the islands in the short time we were there.

You did a great job and I would certainly recommend you to friends visiting the area.

Joe P. – Franklin Park, IL (Private Hong Kong trip, September 2013)


We had a spectacular trip. Access China Tours did a wonderful job and we would definitely recommend your company to others planning a trip to China. We loved all of the places we visited. Each guide was knowledgeable, punctual, friendly, and fun. My only suggestions would be (1) to make sure all vans have high powered air conditioning if traveling during the summer; One or two vans had AC, but it did not work as well as we would have liked, and (2) try to provide restaurant options that have a few western choices. While all of the restaurants we visited were very high quality, it is an adjustment for westerners to eat only Chinese food, so some western choices would have always been welcomed. This was a trip of a lifetime that created memories that we will always cherish.

Attached are a few pictures from the trip. Feel free to share them as you see fit.

Thanks again for everything!

C. and J. Saldana – Carrollton, TX (Private trip, July – August 2013)


We had a great trip!! Everything went smoothly and we didn’t get sick!! I’ve misplaced the evaluation form you sent in the packet. If you would kindly send another, I’ll be happy to fill it in. It’s definitely very positive.

Our guide in Singapore, Derek Chia was wonderful. He became our driver and invited Jeck Tan to serve as guide – both actually shared along the way. Derek’s Toyota Camry was a comfortable delight for our travel around the city. Although not so large in area, it was amazing how far we traveled on various roads in Singapore!! We covered the items listed on your itinerary and they made a couple of adjustments so we could see Mount Sophia (where I used to stay with a friend) and the new site of Trinity Theological College which used to be on Mount Sophia. Both Derek and Jeck were very thoughtful of our needs and helpful getting in and out, walking etc.

In Kuala Lumpur, we had Thomas Ng as our guide and he, too, was excellent. We had a couple of different drivers. We had one small problem that they quickly adjusted. We were met at the KL airport with an 8-10 passenger van and learned that this would be our transportation to the Cameron Highlands, a five hour drive. In addition to its being difficult for Ibby to get in and out of, the van was not very comfortable for a long trip. So we asked for a sedan for the Cameron Highlands trip. The next day the driver came with a small Hyundai sedan for our sightseeing in KL and we agreed that would be OK for the longer trip. For the trip to Melaka, a different driver had a very comfortable Camry!! Vivian was very helpful and solicitous of our needs. She came to the hotel to inquire about the auto arrangements and later called to see how things were going. The bus trip from KL to Singapore went well – as Saturday approached we were a bit concerned with the idea of a double-decker bus because Ibby has some difficulty with stairs, but she managed them OK; after the rest stop, she stayed in the lower conference area of the bus, which was not occupied.

Thomas was also very adaptable and helpful. Initially, they had planned for the driver to take us to the bus on Saturday without the guide, but at my request, Thomas came along to insure there was no problem. Derek then met us in Singapore and took us to the hotel, and then to the airport early the next morning.

Our guides, Derek, Jeck and Thomas were well informed, thoughtful of our needs, flexible and offered suggestions of other things we might be interested to see. During our sight-seeing, I often wondered if the car and guides were available just for the outlined itinerary or for blocks of time (like a morning or an afternoon). That never seemed to be an issue, and I didn’t feel rushed through our visits.

Also, we were delighted with each of our hotels – they were well-chosen. In Singapore and KL, both hotels were near a shopping center with numerous food courts – so we had wonderful meals and, especially in KL, not too expensive!!

So thank you very much, Mark for making these arrangements. We would highly recommend these arrangements to others. I haven’t begun to sort pictures yet. If I come upon any interesting ones, I’ll share them!!

Many thanks,

L. Turnipseed – Lansdale, PA (Private trip, July 2013)


Access China Tours diligently responded to my concerns and needs during the planning process and once on the tour, your service was thoughtful, caring and professional.

We had a wonderful trip and I want to thank Moosa and Michael Zheng in Beijing for putting together the perfect itinerary for my family. This was a very important trip for my grandchildren whose heritage is linked to China. Your efforts made it an exciting and memorable experience.

My sincere thanks to you all.

D. & M. Schwartz – Green Valley, AZ (Private family trip, June 2013)


I just wanted you to know how pleased I was with our trip. Both Eric (our guide in Xi’an) and Henry (our guide in Beijing) were wonderful. They shared the history and background of the sites to which they took us and were flexible when we wanted more or less time in a site. I would recommend your agency to any of my friends who want to visit China.

Please pass along a message to Henry telling him that we had no trouble getting to Hong Kong with our package.


Elise Lev – Newark, NJ (Private trip, May 2013)


Oh my gosh! I am so sorry I thought for sure I had sent you an email. I absolutely loved my trip. I have raved about it and you to everyone. You did such an amazing job listening to me and putting together a wonderful experience.
There was not a single part of the trip that I didn’t like. Even certain places that weren’t as amazing as I thought they would be were wonderful learning experiences, because everywhere I went I saw and learned something.
After all my worries about the food, I had so many amazing and enjoyable meals. The vegetables were the biggest surprise–so many different kinds and all so delicious.
The guides were incredible. I enjoyed all of them and really felt well taken care of. . .

My favorite experiences were hiking around Lonji after a huge rainstorm and seeing all the wet rice terraces glistening in the sunlight, and seeing the Great Wall almost empty under blue skies in the snow! I enjoyed every ritual at every Buddhist and Confucian temple–and I particularly loved going to little hole-in-the-wall restaurants on my daily drives.

Thank you for everything you did to make this a trip of a lifetime.
All best and much gratitude,

Victoria P. – Santa Fe, NM (Private trip, March 2013)


We had a wonderful trip. The guide and driver in each city were very pleasant and accommodating. All hotels were very nice. The mountain retreat forgot to tell us about our room change when we checked in so ended up moving our room for us while we were out touring. We thought the 2nd room was very nice and had a great view and a more private bathroom. The only downside was that it was in a separate building from the lobby and restaurant. Have you stayed there? I think I would have preferred staying in the other room both nights rather than moving–it was very nice. But, in any case it was a beautiful space to be in.

The food was very good and each guide was very helpful in making sure we were able to follow our vegetarian diet. If I had it to do over again I would have booked the elite restaurants at lunch instead of dinner (maybe they are not open for lunch?). Pure Lotus in Beijing was amazing–beautiful setting and fantastic food! But we were so tired from our excursion to the wall by the time we got there–I wish we could have enjoyed it earlier in the day (we had also had a late and very large lunch that day). I don’t think we could have know that ahead of time.

These are very small things–we had a wonderful trip and will highly recommend your company to any family we know traveling to China. Thank you for all your work in making our trip so comfortable and fun!

T. Hilliard – Redlands, CA (Private family trip with young children, March 2013)


We loved the trip. Thank you for all your help. We did fill out the questionnaire we received from our last guide in Beijing. I hope you received it. Ben, our guide in Shanghai was so wonderful. We all loved him and thought he was just the best. I am happy to be a referral for you. Let me know if you have any other questions. I will try to send a photo of us with Ben.


Judy W. – Washington, DC (Private trip, January 2013)


We had a wonderful trip. Our guide David did an excellent job. He was particularly enlightening when we were in the Buddhist temples. We would have missed much of the symbolism without him. He also sensed that Kate and I had a particular interest in that area and found ways to enrich that experience.
He did a great job of describing the history of the Water Village and of Hangshow(sp) giving us a sense of the rich history and tradition behind both places.
He also sensed when two very tired tourists needed some quiet time.
We found the traffic in Shanghai to be insane. Our driver did an excellent job of getting us from point A to point B quickly, but we have to admit we couldn’t believe how aggressive motorists were. Even as pedestrians our hearts were in our mouths. I don’t think I could ever adjust to that congestion.
The hotels were excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed the Shanghai Central. We also found some quiet time to decompress there.
The meals that were provided for us were enjoyable and of high quality. Even I eventually was able to use chop sticks. David did an excellent job of ordering.
The one thing that we may have changed would have been to take the train back to Shanghai from Hefei. Between travel time to the airports security etc., it was about the same time difference and the train was more comfortable.
Thanks for arranging our trip.

P. Pappas – Boston, MA (Private trip, December 2012)


Hey there! We had the BEST trip! Honestly, I’m so glad that we used your services. We were able to just relax and go from place to place- we didn’t have to worry about how to get there or what time it closed- we just enjoyed where we were. We enjoyed immensely the ability to have conversations with our guides- so interesting to be able to ask a Chinese person for their perspective. We enjoyed John (JinLiu) in Mutianyu Beijing- it was great to have a young guide. And then Wilson in Hangzhou was wonderful also- we had the best guides!

Thank you very much for helping us arrange everything. It was great to be able to change things around as we went too- very flexible.

Cynthia P. – New York, NY (Private trip, October 2012)


It was an amazing trip and I was delighted with the service provided by your company and our guides. I have recommended you to anyone considering a trip to Asia and would certainly highly recommend the benefits of a private tour. It was a memorable experience and I would return to China.


Holly T. — Manitoba, Canada (private trip, October 2012)


We want to thank Access China Tours for the absolutely incredible experience we had on our China tour as part of the Panda Volunteer Program.

After visiting all the zoos in the United States that had pandas we decided we wanted to go to China to see the pandas there. We searched the internet for “China panda tours” and found Access China Tours; and what a find it was! We were excited to find a tour of China that included not only a visit to a panda reserve to see pandas, but one that worked with Pandas International to schedule us to spend two days volunteering at a panda reserve. The tour included all of the highlights of China, plus the experience of actually working with pandas.

Access China Tours was wonderful to work with. We booked our trip several months in advance, and regularly checked their website for new information. We anxiously read reviews from people who had traveled with ACT. Reviews were always positive, and with each review we read we grew more excited.

Our entire trip was as close to perfect as it could be. From our arrival in Beijing to our departure in Shanghai, ACT could not have taken better care of us. The guides, hotels, attractions, food, and of course the panda experience at Bifengxia Panda Center, were all great.

We have traveled with other tour groups . . . ACT surpassed them all. We highly recommend Access China Tours. They do a terrific job of putting together a totally awesome trip!


Ralph & Kathy C. — Bountiful, UT (Panda Volunteer Program, September 2012)


I totally enjoyed the trip!!!!!! It exceeded all of my expectations…Suzanne Braden spent a considerable amount of time with us which was wonderful and presented us with opportunities that we never would have been able to experience at the Bifengxia Panda Breeding Center.

Thank you again for putting together such a wonderful trip!!!!!!

Donna G. – Tempe, AZ (Panda Volunteer Program, September 2012)


We had an amazing trip to China. We did fill out the evaluation form and left it with the concierge in Hong Kong; you should have it by now. We think Access China did a great job and would recommend your company to those looking for a private or small group tour of China. We loved being the only participants for our tour…just as you all predicted!

The guides were friendly, well informed on all the sites, provided lots of information both on historical and practical topics,and were able to rearrange the itinerary when needed to best use our time in each city. They were willing to do whatever it took to make sure we were getting the most from the trip. The drivers were friendly and careful and the vehicles’ air conditioning very welcome throughout the tour.

All the hotels were lovely with all the desired amenities and well located. We were so happy to return to a first class hotel room after a long day of sightseeing.The breakfast buffets included everything one would want to eat in the morning. We did not have any other meals in the hotels. One thought for you: the hotels in Xian and Hangzhou have two wings and we were assigned the wing which required us to walk to the other one for breakfast. Not a problem for us…but it was a 5+ minute walk up and down steps each way and would be an issue for a client with mobility problems. The hotel wings that include the restaurants would probably be preferable. I did notice both hotels had golf cart shuttles between the two wings and guests waiting for them.

The flights in China ran smoothly, pretty much on schedule with no problems checking in, retrieving baggage, etc.

We enjoyed all the sites and activities, obviously some more than others, such as Great Wall, Terracotta Army, Shanghai museum, Li River cruise, but were pleased that even our non favorites were included, as they gave a broader perspective to our trip. Using information from our guides and our own research we made good use of our free time and managed to have good dinners in local restaurants on our own. We are also grateful that there were not too many “shopping stops” as we are definitely not shoppers!

Thank you for arranging an outstanding tour.

Stanley & Ann P. – Mclean, VA (Golden Passage Tour, September 2012)


We had a great trip in China. Everything went well except for the weather. It was sunny in Xian, overcast in Beijing and pouring rain on our last day.

When we arrived in Xian, our tour guide, Sissy, met us at the airport and she gave us a beautiful fruit basket. It was very sweet of her. She spoke English very well. Our van and driver met us at the parking lot, just across the street. He was prepared with a small cooler box with some cold bottle waters. The check-in at the Sofitel hotel went smoothly. Our connecting rooms were huge, modern with comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. The buffet breakfast had a wide selection of food – asian & western. Our tour went very well. The two restaurants (Dumpling house & Wen Hao) were very good. We got a private room at both places. Our only complaint was the dinner at the Tang Dynasty. It was a buffet sytle dinner. The quality of food was bad/terrible. There were too many people/tourist mostly foreigners who were eating there because they were going to see the show. I don’t think you should send your clients to this restaurant if they are not going to see the show. I’m sure there are better restaurants in Xian.

In Beijing, Mark, our tour guide greeted us at the airport. He’s very nice, polite, and spoke English very well. Our hotel, the Grand Hyatt, is centrally located. Nice big swimming pool, but the rooms are outdated and carpet in the hallway was smelly. The two bedroom suite was comfortable and quite spacious. We had a good tour and visited most of the sights. The only disappointment was at the Great Wall. It was raining very hard and thick fog. We took the cable car up to the top, but we couldn’t see anything. When we left the city that Sunday morning, we were not expecting that the rain would be heavy. I was the only person that brought an umbrella. However, Mark was really nice and went to buy us all the cheap plastic ponchos. Even with the ponchos, we were still wet. I think it would be a good idea for the tour van to be prepared with a few umbrellas in case of rain. We enjoyed all the restaurants in Beijing. I just wished that I could eat more peking duck. The Baijia imperial restaurant was very interesting. The courtyard is beautiful.

All in all, everything went well. Thank you for arranging the trip. I would definitely recommend your company to anyone who’s planning a trip to China.
Best regards,

Immie S. – Los Angeles, CA (Private Family Trip, June 2012)


We had a fabulous time. All the arrangements worked fine from the very useful pre-travel information you sent to us to the travelling itself. We were met at every point by our guides and drivers, all of which were very good. The content was excellent – covered the important sites in the short time we had. Most of the restaurants were very good, in particular the Peking duck meal in Beijing was excellent. The hotels in Beijing, Xian and Shanghi were very good, but the hotel in Chengdu was fantastic. It was wonderful staying in such an authentic Chinese building with lovely Chinese touches, such as the porcelain decorated sink – perfect. The one grumble I would have is the hotel in Ya’an. The Ibis hotel was way below the standard of the other hotels. Perhaps we were spoilt by the other hotels, but elements such as grey thinning towels, ineffective aircon, unhelpful reception staff and very lacking breakfast meant the 3 night stay there was not enjoyable.The volunteering at Bifengxia could not have been better. I think we were very fortunate that it was just 4 of us, so well worth the extra payment and thank you for still running the trip for us. As a result we all had time with the pandas, feeding them and sitting with them, after having cleaned out their rooms of course, which was hard but still enjoyable work! Thank goodness we didn’t get stuck in the office. We did have a student working with the pandas with us though, which was fortunate as he spoke English. If he had not been there it might have been a bit more difficult as I am not sure the keeper’s English was very good.

All in all it was a fantastic holiday, very well organised and executed. Thank you! Glenda posts reviews on Tripadvisor and will be posting one about our trip and giving well earned praise to your company.

Thanks and kind regards

Julie C. & Glenda C. – Kent, UK (Panda Volunteer Program, May 2012)


Watch a video here of photo shoot with baby panda at the Chengdu Panda Breeding and Research centre submitted by our volunteers.

Here is another video describing the different tasks at the Panda Center.


Thank you and all the staff at Access China Tours for such an amazing trip!! Everything about the trip was perfect…. it was absolutely wonderful!! Our guides in all cities were amazing. We love Joanna and really enjoyed spending time with her in Wuhan. The trip to the orphanage was quite special…Emily was welcomed back with so much love. (There was a huge red banner across the building saying Welcome Home Li Xiao Fang, in Chinese characters!) This heritage trip was so good for Emily….it really helped her fill in some gaps and to understand where she came from and that she was well loved for that year in the orphanage. It was really hard to say goodbye to TuanFeng, Mrs. Li and Ms. Shao.

Emily and Sarah especially loved Chengdu and our guide in that city, Alice. Alice was wonderful with children and I know that both girls would really like to go back there again. Echo was a fantastic guide in Beijing and her daughter ended up spending some time with our girls….a good cultural experience for us all!

The hotels in all cities were perfect and quite nice…..nicer than what we usually stay in in the US. :-) The food was good (especially in Chengdu) and even the weather….can you believe we had three full days of sun in Beijing!?! It was interesting how much China has changed in less that a decade…..it was so different from our time there in 2003!

Cherry, we hope to go back to China again….if money wasn’t an issue, we would be booking a trip right now. We would like to next travel to Xi’an, Kunming, Wuhan (TuanFeng) and of course, Chengdu and maybe even get down to BiFangXia.

Again, thank you for giving us a trip of a lifetime….this trip was an adventure that our daughters will remember and carry with them forever!!

Paige B.- Denver, CO (Private Heritage Tour, April 2012)


I do not often write a company in regards to service that is provided, however i have found an exception to the rule. I have operated a outfitter guide and tour service for many years and feel i am somewhat qualified to critique.

Upon our arrival by train to Lhasa, Tibet, we were met by your representative / guide Ms. Sangmo.
From the moment she said hello at the train station, to the time she had to say goodbye at the China / Nepal border, Ms. Sangmo epitomized a career professional approach to her service.

Yes, the service that she supplied in regards to our tours, palaces, restaurants, visits, and overall trip was superb. She was always on time, she was always willing to give us options of time and scheduling, she was always courteous, and she was always most knowledgeable. When we were in x3 separate vehicles she would write out x3 separate small fact sheets with points of interest and the plan of the day, so we would know where we were, where we were going, and time frames.

She not only dealt with your / our pre-planned schedule articulately, she went out of her way to deal with our altitude and other sickness bouts by accompanying us individually on request side trips to pharmacy and food stores. She checked on us regularly to assure we were prepared for the next day.

But the skill in which she handled the unexpected was exceptional and should be acknowledged. As we traveled from Lhasa to Nepal, there were road closures, checkpoint delays, extreme weather problems, and overall fatigue. At each difficult situation, she kept us informed, made excellent decisions in altering for the problems and proved herself time and again to be a great leader.

One specific incident occurred as we drove the three 4×4 land cruisers over the Himalayas. After the 17,000 foot mountain pass but before Zhangmu, the snow in the road was so high, and plowed so narrow, that it was a tunnel effect and our vehicles were forced to slow to 10-15 mph for long distances. After almost 16 hours on the road we were stopped at a checkpoint and told that we could go no further toward our scheduled stop in Zhangmu, as trucks were coming up from the opposite direction and we would not be able to continue until they arrived in maybe 3-5 more hours.

Now, before we left that day, Ms. Sangmo insisted that all the vehicles were fueled full, she had already assured that everyone had some food and lots and lots of water so we were actually prepared to wait it out, as we really had no choice and with altitude and other ills, most of us were feeling poorly. At that road checkpoint, Ms. Sangmo got out in the cold snow. In time, she returned with information. She had made an arrangements for us to bypass a short way and enter a small village. There she found an establishment, at midnight, that was willing to make us hot tea and rice and a warm room in which to wait out the road snow situation. it was a real reprieve for us, as well, it also made for a much safer trip, as our drivers were also in need of a break. Ms. Sangmo made an otherwise cold, cramped, delay situation into a wonderful experience.

Ms. Sangmo is the exemplification of a truly professional guide in all aspects. I highly recommend her for service. She is an asset to your tour business and will no doubt result in repeat business for you.

Bob I. – Horseshoe Beach, FL (Private Group Tour, February 2012)